Hi there, it’s me, Smokey!

I was surprised to hear so many people were worried about me when I was sick.  I’m sure I got better fast because my residents count on me to take care of them.  I just don’t have time to be sick!

My life has changed a lot since mama broke her hip.  I used to love riding around on the seat of Mama’s bright red walker.  She pushed her walker all around Conifer House and I would go with her – riding along on the seat.  Now that she’s in a wheelchair, I don’t get to ride with her anymore.  I really, really miss spending that time with mama.

I still follow mama around, but it’s not the same as riding on her walker.  My silly sisters keep trying to dream up ways for me to ride with mama.  First they put this sling thingy under the front of mama’s wheelchair, but I was too big.  If you look real close you can see it – there was no way I could fit in there!

IMG_4177
This is mama and Asia.

Now my sister came up with another idea – maybe this one will work. She used duct tape and a bungee cord to tie down a red basket on the back of mama’s wheelchair.  Maybe I just look dumb and too big for this, too.  Take a look – what do you think?

IMG_4281
My new ride.

My sister is gonna be disappointed in me.  I got in the basket so she could take my picture, but look at what I did next…

IMG_4283
Maybe it’s just fine for me to walk next to mama – I don’t have to ride with her!

My sister Judi will be here tomorrow.  Maybe she can come up with a good idea for me and mama.  I don’t think my sisters are going to give up until they find a way for me to ride with mama!

“I love cats because I enjoy my home; and little by little, they become its visible soul.”
Jean Cocteau

 

