“Just like your mother, you’re unfailingly kind. A trait people never fail to undervalue, I’m afraid.” – Dumbledore to Harry

“You’re just like your mother!” Words said to inflict hurt, thrown at me as an insult. Words exchanged during arguments with significant others as I negotiated my twenties and thirties.  During those years I took the words as an insult – what do you mean I’m just like my mother?

I’m a quite a bit older and wiser now and if someone happens to say, “you’re just like your mother,” I gladly take those words as a compliment.  My mom was (and still is, somewhere deep inside of her) incredibly smart, creative and funny.  Growing up, I remember my mom as the fixer.  She was never afraid to try any anything and, “I don’t know how” was not part of her vocabulary.  My mom also believed in me, had unwavering faith in me and has always been my champion.

I’m sorry to say that I did not always appreciate my mother, but I guess that’s part of growing up.  I can recall rolling my eyes at something she would say, ignoring her advice and generally thinking of her as eccentric.  Despite my obvious frustrations with her as I was growing up, my mom loved me unconditionally – and I believe she still does now.

I’m not sure if I ever told my mom how proud I was of her – and that makes me sad.

IMG_6840        IMG_6889

I am like my mother in many ways.
Yes, and I am so incredibly thankful for that fact. I honor and celebrate her by living the lessons she left with me…, and by extending the same unconditional love to my family as she did to hers.
Kelly S. Buckley

 

